Permanent Representation of the Czech Republic to the Council of Europe

česky  français  english 

Advanced search

Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

Election of the Secretary General: Committee of Ministers submits candidatures to PACE

The Committee of Ministers recommended Norwegian candidate Thorbjorn Jagland and German candidate Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger to the Parliamentary Assembly.

On 21 Feburary 2014, the Committee of Ministers meeting in camera decided that the Parliamentary Assembly will be choosing between the current Secretary General and former German Minister of Justice when voting a new Secretary General of the Organization during its June Plenary session. One of the main rules playing a role when taking a decision were the so called Junker's criteria, setting requirements all the candidates are supposed to fulfill. Originally the third registered cadidate, former PACE president Jean-Claude Mignon, was not recommended to the vote.

The winner of June elections will be introduced to the post of the Secretary General with the effect from 1 October 2014, for a 5-year term.

Committee of Ministers