Embassy of the Czech Republic in London

česky  english 

Advanced search
Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

Young Czech violinist in a stirring recital

The residence of the Czech Ambassador hosted an outstanding musical evening with Tereza Anna Přívratská, a talented Czech violonist, performing a New Year´s recital to celebrate the Czech Republic Presidency of the Visegrad group. On the programme was a selection of pieces by Antonín Dvořák, Josef Suk, Ludwig van Beethoven and Maurice Ravel. During the recital Tereza was accompanied by Shio Osaki on piano.

Tereza Anna Privratska

Tereza was born in Prague in 1988. She began playing the violin at the age of four. Later on,  she attended classes of Magdalena Mickova and professor Jindrich Pazdera. After graduating at the Prague Conservatoire, she enrolled, at age 17, at the Royal Academy of Music in London. She is currently studying in a Master of Music Concert Project under the tutorship of professor Jack Liebeck.

Tereza, from an early age, was already entering and winning music competitions in both the Czech Republic and internationally. To name just a few, she won the Marjorie Bunty Lempfert Award, the John Mundi Gift and the James Wright Scholarship.

She has attended several violin masterclasses, in particular the California Summer Music in Pebble Beach and Meadowmount School of Music (USA), the Pro Corda in Leiston (UK) and the Encuentro de música in Santender (Spain) and undertaken courses of chamber music in France. She performed with Prague Philharmonia, Barocco sempre giovane ensemble and Archi di Slovakia orchestra. She is regularly invited to music festivals in the Czech Republic.

In 2008 she performed a solo recital at the matinee of the Prague Spring Festival accompanied by Matej Arendarik on piano.

Tereza is a primarius in the Royal Academy of Music´s Jubilee Quartet. In 2010 her quartet won the Harold Craxton Prize (UK) and in 2011 the prestigious international competition in Val Tidone (Italy).

On the programme of the recital were:

Antonín Dvořák (1841 - 1904)                                   Romantic pieces, op 75

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827)            Violin Sonata No. 9, op 47 „Kreutzer Sonata“  

Josef Suk (1974 - 1935)                                             Four pieces for violin and piano, op 17

Maurice Ravel  (1975 - 1937)                         Tzigane, Concert Rhapsody for violin and piano, op 76


Tereza Anna Přívratská (right) with Shio Osaki


Ambassador Michael Žantovský with Tereza Anna Přívratská and Shio Osaki


Markéta Dvorak, great-great granddaughter of Antonín Dvořák, was among the guests


Ambassador Žantovský with Eva Jiřičná