Embassy of the Czech Republic in Pristina

česky  english  shqip  srpski 

Advanced search
Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

Founding of international Václav Havel Award for human rights

(This article expired 03.04.2014.)

First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic Karel Schwarzenberg attended the ratification of the agreement of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, Václav Havel Library and Charta 77 Foundation on founding of international Václav Havel Award for human rights at the Czernin Palace on March 25, 2013.

The agreement was signed by President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe Jean-Claude Mignon, Marta Smolíková for Václav Havel Library and prof. František Janouch for Charta 77 Foundation.

The prize will be awarded every year for an extraordinary contribution of an individual or of a non-governmental institution to the protection of human rights. The only comparable award in Europe is the Sakharov Prize awarded by the European Parliament. The award ceremony will take place at the inauguration of the autumn general session of the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly. Afterwards, the Václav Havel Library will organize an international conference, emphasizing the contribution of the prize winner to human rights agenda.

The Parliamentary Assembly is a statutory body of the Council of Europe, the oldest European intergovernmental human rights organization, whose main mission is to safeguard respect for human rights, protection of democracy and rule of law in Europe. It consists of representatives of national parliaments from 47 European countries.

Havel cena

Minister Karel Schwarzenberg, František Janouch, Jean-Claude Mignon and Marta Smolíková - Photo: Robert Janás (©MZV)