Permanent Representation of the Czech Republic to the European Union

česky  english 

Advanced search

Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

The new Czech government appointed

Czech President Miloš Zeman appointed the coalition government of Prime Minister Bohuslav Sobotka (Social Democrats, ČSSD) on 29th January 2014, 95 days after early election.

The new centre-left government of the Czech Republic is made up of representatives of the three political parties: Social Democrats (ČSSD), the ANO movement and Christian Democrats (KDU-ČSL), which signed a coalition agreement following the last elections.

The government comprises 17 members, headed by the Prime Minister Bohuslav Sobotka and two deputy Prime Ministers Andrej Babiš (ANO) The First Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Finance and Pavel Bělobrádek (KDU-ČSL).

The new government has a majority of 111 votes in the 200-seat Chamber of Deputies.