Embassy of the Czech Republic in Washington, D.C.

česky  english 

Advanced search

Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size Twitter

Concert: Piano Quartet

(This article expired 03.05.2014.)

On May 12, at 6:30 pm, members of the renowned Vlach Quartet Prague join pianist Helena Suchárová Weiser in a program of music by Antonín Dvořák in the West Building, West Garden Court of the National Gallery of Art. The program includes Dvořák's Piano Quartet No. 1 in D major, Op. 23, and Piano Quartet No. 2 in E flat major, Op. 87. The event is a part of the EU Month of Culture.

Music by Antonín Dvořák

Piano Quartet No. 1 in D major, Op. 23

I. Allegro moderato 
II. Andantino con variazioni 
III. Finale: Allegretto scherzando

Piano Quartet No. 2 in E flat major, Op.87

I. Allegro con fuoco 
II. Lento 
III. Allegro moderato, grazioso 
IV. Finale: Allegro ma non troppo 


Jana Vlachová - violin
Karel Stadtherr - viola
Mikael Ericsson - violoncello
Helena Suchárová Weiser - piano

For additional information about the artists, please visit: www.vlachquartet.com.

Admission is free.

Location: National Gallery of Art
West Building, West Garden Court
6th and Constitution Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20565

Concerts at the National Gallery are open to the public, free of charge. Admittance is on a first-come, first-seated basis, beginning 30 minutes before each concert. The entrance at 6th Street and Constitution Avenue NW remains open on Sunday until 6:30 pm. Families with small children may be asked to sit in designated areas. Please note that late entry or reentry of the West Building after 6:30 pm. is not permitted. For further information, call (202) 842-6941.