Embassy of the Czech Republic in Washington, D.C.

česky  english 

Advanced search

Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size Twitter

Czech Studies in the U.S.

The following is a listing of organizations that provide Czech Cultural Studies Classes. They are sorted alphabetically by institution.

If you would like to add to the list please click here to email us.

A

AMERICAN COUNCILS FOR INTERNATIONAL EDUCATION
www.americancouncils.org
Central, Eastern, and Southern Europe Language Program
contact person: Marta Svec
1776 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Suite 700
Washington, D.C. 20036
tel.: 202.833.7522
fax: 202.833.7523

B

BROWN UNIVERSITY
www.brown.edu
Department of Slavic Languages
www.language.brown.edu/iatc/
teacher: Masako Fidler
Masako_Fidler@brown.edu
Box E
Providence, RI 02912
tel.: 401.863.2689

C

COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY
www.columbia.edu
Department of Slavic Languages
Teacher: Chris Harwood
cwh4@columbia.edu
1130 Amsterdam Avenue
mailcode 2839
New York, NY 10027
tel.: 212.854.3941
fax: 212.854.5009

COUNCIL OF INTERNATIONAL EDUCATIONAL EXCHANGE
www.ciee.org
7 Custom House Street, 3rd Floor
Portland, ME 04101
tel.: 1.800.40.STUDY
1.207.553.7600
fax: 1.207.553.7699

Ms. Melissa Quinby
External Relations Officer, East Coast
CIEE Study Centers in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East
tel.: 207.553.7610

CZECH LANGUAGE FOUNDATION
www.unl.edu/clf
1018 South 35th St
Lincoln, NE 68510
President: Layne Pierce
Infoman77@yahoo.com
tel.: 402.770.5029
Vice-President: Joe Swoboda
Secretary/Treasurer: John Fiala

F

FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY
www.fiu.edu
teacher: Barbara Weitz
weitzb@fiu.edu
http://www.fiu.edu/~weitzb?prague-Study.htm
tel.: 305.348.3294

H

HARVARD UNIVERSITY
www.harvard.edu
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
slavic@fas.harvard.edu
teachers: Nora Hampl, Peter Zusi
hampl@fas.harvard.edu
zusi@fas.harvard.edu
Barker Center 374
12 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
tel.: 617.496.0623
fax: 617.496.4466

I

INDIANA UNIVERSITY
www.indiana.edu
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
iuslavic@indiana.edu
teacher: Bronislava Volkova
volkova@indiana.edu
1020 E. Kirkwood Ave.
Ballantine Hall 502
Bloomington, IN 47405-7103
tel.: 812.855.9906
fax: 812.855.2107

N

NEW YORK UNIVERSITY
www.nyu.edu
Department of Russian and Slavic Studies
teacher: Milan Fryscak
mf6@nyu.edu
19 University Place
New York, NY 10003
tel.: 212.998.8673

O

OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY
www.osu.edu
Slavic Department
www.slavic.ohio-state.edu
slavicdept@osu.edu
teachers: Marcela Michalkova, Martin Michalek
Charles Gribble, Daniel Collins, Yana Hashamova
michalkova.1@osu.edu
michalek.8@osu.edu
collins.232@osu.edu
232 Cunz Hall
1841 Millikin Road
Columbus, OH 43210-1215
tel.: 614.292.6733
fax: 614.292.6733; 614.688.3107

P

PRINCETON UNIVERSITY
www.princeton.edu
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
teachers: Mirjam Fried, Caryl Emerson
mfried@princeton.edu
Clio Hall
Princeton, NJ 08544
tel.: 609.258.7077
fax: 609.258.2204

S

STANFORD UNIVERSITY
www.stanford.edu
Special Language Program Department
teacher: Jara Dusatko
jdusatko@sulmail.stanford.edu
Building 40 (Main Quad)
Stanford, CA 94305-2006
tel.: 650.723.3655
fax: 650.725.0011

U

UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA
www.berkeley.edu
Institute of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
iseees@berkley.edu
260 Stephens Hall #2304
Berkeley, CA 94720-2304
tel.: 510.642.3230

UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA LOS ANGELES
www.ucla.edu
Department of Slavic Languages and Literature
teacher: Michael H. Heim
heim@humnet.ucla.edu
371 Kinsey Hall
Los Angeles, CA 90095
tel.: 310.825.7894
310.825.3856
fax: 310.206.5263

teacher: Susan C. Kresin
115 Kinsey Hall
Box 951502
University Of California
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1501
tel.:310.794.5790

UNIVERSITY OF CHICAGO
www.uchicago.edu
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
slavic-department@uchicago.edu
teachers: Malynne Sternstein, Steven Clancy
sclancy@uchicago.edu
msternst@uchicago.edu
1130 E. 59th Street
Foster 406
Chicago, IL 60637
tel.: 773.702.8033
fax: 773.702.7030

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN
www.uiuc.edu
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Prof. Harriet Murav (Head)
hlmurav@uiuc.edu
707 S. Matthews Avenue
Foreign Languages Building #3070
Urbana, IL 61801 MC-17

UNIVERSITY OF IOWA
www.uiowa.edu
Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures/Asian & Slavic Languages and Literatures
http://clas.uiowa.edu/dwllc/asll
teacher: Jitka Sonkova
jitka-sonkova@uiowa.edu
636 Phillips Hall
The University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242
tel.: 319.335.1278

UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
www.umich.edu
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
slavic@umich.edu
teachers: Jindøich Toman
3040 Modern Languages Building
812 E. Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1275
tel.: 734.764.5355
fax: 734.647.2127

UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA - LINCOLN
www.unl.edu
Department of Modern Languages and Literatures
teacher: Mila Saskova-Pierce
msaskova-pierce1@unl.edu
1133 Oldfather Hall
Lincoln, NE 68588-0315
tel.: 402.472.1336
fax: 402.472.0327

UNIVERSITY OF NEW ORLEANS
Division of International Education
www.unostudyabroad.com
Metropolitan College
New Orleans, LA 70148
tel.: 504.280.7318
iziegler@uno.edu
www.unostudyabroad.com/prague.htm

UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA
www.unc.edu
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
slavdept@email.unc.edu
teacher: Laura Janda
lajanda@email.unc.edu
http://www.seelrc.org
425 Dey Hall, CB # 3165
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3165
tel.: 919.962.7549
fax: 919.962.2278

UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA
www.upenn.edu
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
745 Williams Hall
255 S 36 Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-8704
tel.: 215.898.8704
fax: 215.573.7794
http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/slavic
slavic@ccat.sas.upenn.edu
Prof. Peter Steiner (Chair)
psteiner@sas.upenn.edu

UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS
www.utexas.edu
Slavic Languages and Literatures
lolly@mail.texas.edu
teachers: Hana Píchová, Craig Cravens
Box 7217
Austin, TX 78713-7217
tel.: 512.471.3607
fax: 512.471.6710

UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON
www.washington.edu
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
slavicll@u.washington.edu
teacher: Jara Soldan
jsoldan@hotmail.com
Box 35380
Seattle, WA 98195-3580
tel.: 206.543.4449
fax: 206.543.6009

UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN - MADISON
www.wisc.edu
Dept. of Slavic Languages and Literatures
slavicl@slavic.wisc.edu
vyuèující: David S. Danaher
dsdanaher@wisc.edu
1432 Van Hise Hall
1220 Linden Drive
Madison, WI 53706
tel.: 608.262.3498, 608.262.9765
fax: 608.265.2814

Y

YALE UNIVERSITY
www.yale.edu
Slavic Department
slavic.department@yale.edu
teacher: Karen von Kunes
karen.vonkunes@yale.edu
P.O. Box 208236
New Haven, CT 06520-8236
tel.: 203.432.0390
fax: 203.432.0999