česky  english 

Advanced search
Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

Visa free travel for Emirati citizens to Schengen area

On 6 May 2015 a bilateral agreement was signed between the European Union and the United Arab Emirates that enables Emirati citizens visa free stays in the Schengen area for up to 90 days within any 180-day period.


As of 6 May 2015 Emirati citizens may visit member countries of the Schengen area without the need for a visa. The conditions of entry are the following:

  • possess a valid travel document (minimum validity of at least 3 months);
  • justify the purpose of his/her intended stay and have sufficient means of subsistence;
  • not have an alert issued for him/her in the Schengen Information System for the purpose of refusing entry;
  • not be considered a threat to public policy, internal security, public health or the international relations of EU countries

Emirati citizens may stay in the Schengen area for the maximum of 90 days within any 180-day period. If you are a frequent visitor to Europe, unsure of how many days are left, you may check the number of  remaining days via the short-stay calculator at the European Comission website.

The Agreement between the EU and the UAE on the short-stay visa waiver entered into force on 6 May 2015.

The member states of the Schengen area are: Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Austria, Greece, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The visa free regime for Emiratis applies also for these EU states that are not members of the Schengen area: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania.


Vlajky EU

Vlajky EU