česky  english  中文 

Advanced search
Photo: Secretariat for Cooperation between China and Central and Eastern European Countries

16+1 Initiative

The 16+1 format is an initiative by the People’s Republic of China aimed at intensifying and expanding cooperation between China and 16 Central and Eastern European Countries (CEEC). Besides Czech Republic, other 10 EU member states (Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia) and 5 non-EU countries (Albania, Bosnia, Montenegro, Macedonia and Serbia) take part in the initiative.

The first 16+1 Summit was held in Warsaw, Poland, in 2012. Since Warsaw meeting, the heads of state of the member countries meet annually and each summit results in a list of agreements. The 16+1 group is particularly eager to foster cooperation in the fields of investments, transport, finance, science, education, and culture. In the framework of the initiative, China has defined three potential priority areas for economic cooperation: infrastructure, high technologies, and green technologies.

The Czech Republic welcomed the initiative and considers the 16+1 format as a useful platform to further develop bilateral relations and tighten strategic partnership between the EU and China. Within the 16+1 framework, the Czech Republic is actively engaged in projects related to civil aviation and healthcare, with interest in the aspects of traditional Chinese medicine.

Past 16+1 Summits

  • 2017: Budapest
  • 2016: Riga
  • 2015: Suzhou
  • 2014: Belgrade
  • 2013: Bucharest

Prime Minister Andrej Babis met with his Chinese counterpart Li Keqiang


Prime Minister of the Czech Republic Mr. Andrej Babis held a bilateral meeting with the Premier of the People’s Republic of China Mr. Li Keqiang at the sidelines of China-Central Eastern Europe 16+1 Forum held in Sofia, Bulgaria on July 9. more ►