česky  english  français 

Advanced search

Council of Europe

The Council of Europe is the largest pan-European human rights organisation.

It has 46 member states, 27 of which are members of the European Union. All Council of Europe member states have signed the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect the three main pillars of the Council of Europe: Human Rights, Democracy and The Rule of Law. The objective of the Council of Europe is to promote the development of its 46 member states through cooperation in political, social, cultural, scientific and economic activities. The greatest emphasis is put on the preservation and protection of human rights.

The seat of the Council of Europe is in European capital Strasbourg.