česky  english  français 

Advanced search
Photo: Council of Europe
Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

The Czech Republic joins the partial agreement on Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe

The Czech Republic joined the Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe on July 5, 2023 and became the 39th member to raise awareness of European cultural heritage, education and sustainable cross-border tourism. The Czech Republic has already on its territory 11 cultural routes certified by the Council of Europe.

The Cultural Routes programme of the Council of Europe was launched in 1987. It aims to foster common cultural heritage and values through educational trails of historic importance and European dimension. The list of Cultural Routes entails 48 certified trails in over 60 countries.

The Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes was established in 2010 in order to financially and politically support the Cultural Routes programme. There are currently 11 certified cultural routes passing through the Czech Republic including European Mozart Ways, European Route of Jewish Heritage, European Route of Historic Thermal Towns, European Route of Industrial Heritage, Iron Curtain Trail, Liberation Route Europe and many more. The Cyril and Methodius Route was the last one to receive certification in 2021.