česky  english 

Advanced search


Citizens of the U.S.A., Canada, and Mexico are not required to have a visa to visit the Czech Republic/Schengen area for a period of up to 90 days within a 180-day period (except profitable activities) - it is calculated from the date of first entry into any Schengen country.

However, visas are required for stays exceeding 90 days and profitable activities. The conditions of entry and short term stay of aliens in the territory of the Czech Republic/Schengen area are regulated by the Regulations No 810/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council, so called "Visa Code" and for long term visa by the Act No. 326/1999 Coll. Citizens of EU countries, EEA countries and citizens of Switzerland do not require a visa for any type of visit or stay in the Czech Republic as effective on May 1, 2004.

Information for visa applicants


Exercise of the right of access to the Schengen Information System


The Czech Republic, member of the Schengen area, uses the Schengen Information System (SIS). more ►

Information package for the foreigners “Next Stop The Czech Republic”

Visa Information System

Starting from May 15, 2014 the Visa Information System (VIS) will be carried out on a regional basis at diplomatic missions of the Czech Republic in the USA. more ►

Visa waiver countries

List of States Whose Citizens Are Exempt from Visa Requirement more ►

Information for applicant on personal data protection