česky  dansk  english 

Advanced search
Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

Hommage à Niels Barfoed, laureate of Gratias Agit Award 2011

The Embassy of the Czech Republic in Copenhagen arranged a ceremonial evening to honor Niels Barfoed on 20 October 2011.

Niels Barfoed s ministrem
Minister of Foreign Affairs, Karel Schwarzenberg, awards Niels Barfoed (on the left).

The Minister of Foreign Affairs, Karel Schwarzenberg, awarded the prize Gratias Agit 2011 to 13 personalities who have contributed to promote the Czech Republic abroad on 14 October 2011 during a ceremonial evening at Cernin palace in Prague.

Among the awarded people was also Niels Barfoed, a Danish writer, publicist, literary critic, human rights defender and former chairman of the Danish PEN club. The prize was given to Niels Barfoed for his long-time selfless support of independent and persecuted people and movements in Czechoslovakia, especially Charter 77, and for continual support of the Czech-Danish relationship after 1989.

Niels Barfoed a Z. Lyčka
Ambassador Zdeněk Lyčka and Niels Barfoed during the ceremonial evening in Cernin palace in Prague

The Embassy of the Czech Republic in Copenhagen arranged a ceremonial evening to honor Niels Barfoed on 20 October 2011. Thus the laureate had an opportunity to celebrate his success with his family and close friends together with many outstanding personalities who are connected to the prizewinner and also to the Czech Republic.

At the beginning of the evening, Ambassador Zdeněk Lyčka mentioned the foundation and importance of the prize Gratias Agit and Niels Barfoed’s exceptional activity. Afterwards in a short speech the laureate expressed his thanks for the prize and talked about his relationship to Czechoslovakia and the Czech Republic.

Niels Barfoed - velvyslanec úvodní řeč
Ambassador Zdeněk Lyčka’s opening speech

The programme continued with a chamber concert by the Janáček Trio. The trio consists of three outstanding soloists – Markéta Janáčková (piano), Irena Herajnová (viola) a Marek Novák (violoncello). The Janáček Trio played pieces by world-famous Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904) as well as the lesser known composers Vojtěch Jírovec (1763-1850) and Jiří Gemrot (1957).

Niels Barfoed - velvyslanec a Janáčkovo Trio
The Janáček Trio with Ambassador Zdeněk Lyčka

After the concert the guests were invited to the reception. During the evening they had the opportunity to take a look at the prize Gratias Agit, the almanacs of former laureates and copies of the articles which were published in Czech and Danish newspapers. There were also extracts from the book by Niels Barfoed Tomis A – my secret life behind the iron curtain (Gyldendal 2009) which were published in the Czech daily Lidové noviny on 4 and 5 October 2011, translated by Ambassador Zdeněk Lyčka.

Niels Barfoed - s indiským vv
Niels Barfoed together with the Ambassador of India, Ashok Kumar Attri


Concert Programme




samlet_Barfoed_1 838 KB PDF (Adobe Acrobat document) Nov 15, 2011