english  česky 

Advanced search
Photo: (@MZV)
Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

Meeting of the Association of the European Senates in The Hague

The XVIth meeting of the Association of European Senates (AES) was held on 21 - 22 May 2015 in the Plenary Hall of the Senate in The Hague. Delegations of 15 European senates took part in the meeting the focus of which was on changing concepts in the functioning of Senates in bicameral parliamentary systems. The Czech delegation was led by the 1st Vice-President of the Czech Senate Mr. Přemysl Sobotka. This year the Netherlands is celebrating the 200th anniversary of its bicameral parliament.

As of today, the AES brings together the Federal Councils (Bundesrats) of Germany and Austria; the Senates of Belgium, the Czech Republic, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania and Spain; the House of Lords of the United Kingdom; the House of Peoples of Bosnia-Herzegovina; the Russian Federation Council; the National Council of Slovenia; and the Swiss Council of States, as well as the Council of State of Luxembourg in the capacity of observer.

The Association's objectives are to develop relationships between members, promote bicameralism within the framework of parliamentary democracy and strengthen European identity and awareness. Each year the Association organizes at least one meeting of Senate Presidents on specific topics to be determined in advance by joint agreement. More about the XVIth AES meeting and the questions that have been addressed during the meeting in The Hague including the photos from the event can be found on www.eerstekamer.nl/aes2015.