Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic

         česky   english        

Advanced search

Skip to menu

Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

Antarctica Day


The 1 December has been set as Antarctica Day. This day we commemorate the anniversary of the conclusion of the Antarctic Treaty on 1 December 1959 in Washington. By concluding the Antarctic Treaty States have committed themselves to preserve Antarctica as a natural reserve, devoted to peace and science.

The Antarctic Treaty represents a milestone in the history of this continent, as States, that had asserted territorial claims in Antarctica, agreed to freeze these claims while the Antarctic Treaty is in force. Further, the Antarctic Treaty has set forth the support for scientific cooperation among States and has ensured the freedom of scientific research.

Czechoslovakia was the first State that acceded to the Antarctic Treaty on June 14, 1962. At the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (ATCM) on May 29, 2013 in Brussels, a so-called consultative status of the Czech Republic as a Contracting Party to the Antarctic Treaty was recognized, effective from April 1, 2014. The consultative status is a higher institutional status which entitles the Czech Republic to participate actively in the above-mentioned consultative meetings with a right to vote and to jointly take part in decisions on the regulation of the use of Antarctica and its future. 

Czech scientists carry out activities in Antarctica. The Czech scientific research is foremost carried out at the Czech research polar station Johann Gregor Mendel on the James Ross Island.

The Czech Republic will organize the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting in 2019.