english  česky 

Advanced search
Photo: Jolly Thompson
Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

Ambassador Sečka awarded 8 eminent personalities with Silver Medal of Jan Masaryk

On 28th July, Ambassador Libor Sečka awarded 8 selected personalities with commemorative Silver Medal of Jan Masaryk for their contribution to the development of Czech-British relations.

List of recipients:

Mr. Neil Bermel, Professor of Russian and Slavonic Studies at the University of Sheffield

  • For his tremendous contribution to developing Czech studies in the UK.

Mr. Peter Cannon-Brookes, Art curator and publicist

  • For his indefatigable work on promoting Czech art and architecture in the UK.

Ms. Claire Horton, Director General of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission

  • For the excellent effort of her and the whole Commission in looking after the legacy of Czech servicemen and servicewomen in the UK and other countries.

Mr. Stanley Johnson, environmental and wildlife advocate

  • For his tremendous life-long work in environmental protection and wildlife conservation, as well as for building bridges between nations.

Mr. Tomáš Kostečka, Chairman of Comenius Schools UK

  • For his outstanding contribution to developing the Czech expats community in the UK.  

Ms. Sylva Šimsová, Librarian

  • For her excellent contribution to the development of Czech and British librarianship and for her work on mapping the history of Czech exile community.

Ms. Alena Telenská, Philanthropist

  • For her invaluable support to the Czech community in the UK, with special focus on culture, education and charity projects.

Ms. Barbara Winton, founder of the Sir Nicholas Winton Memorial Trust

  • For her brilliant work in maintaining the legacy of Sir Nicholas Winton and developing the Czech community in the UK, especially in relation to the „Winton’s Children“.


Silver Medal of Jan Masaryk - Recipients 2021