english  česky 

Advanced search
Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

Important notice from Schengen Member States

Kindly note that according to the announcement of the Kenyan Government, the non-biometric Kenyan passports will expire on 1st March 2020. From the 1st December 2019 the Czech Embassy in Nairobi will ONLY accept the new East African Community biometric e-Passports for Schengen visa applications.

According to Article 12 (a) of the Regulation (EC) No. 810/2009, commonly known as “Visa Code”, the validity of a travel document shall extend at least three months after the intended date of departure from the territory of the Schengen Member States.

According to an official notification from the Kenyan authorities issued to all diplomatic missions, all Kenyan passports – except the new East African Community biometric e-Passport – will be rendered invalid from  1st of March 2020.

The Schengen Member States therefore wish to inform the Kenyan public that from 1st of December 2019 ONLY the new East African Community biometric e-Passport can be accepted for Schengen visa applications.